Like Tree21Likes

Hospital bill - can't pay won't pay?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Hospital bill - can't pay won't pay?

Well what a palaver.

Background:

I have been resident in HK since 2008. My son was born in the UK in August and came to join me in HK in late October. I applied for his dependency visa on 8th November. Then I went back to UK for Christmas and his mum and him stayed longer, until end Jan. We heard nothing regarding visa but I was sure it would arrive any day.

On Monday, the little fella got ill. We took him to hospital at about 11am and they admitted him to the ward. I explained in A and E that his visa was being processed and I would go to the office on the Tuesday to get it. They said "no problem, just bring the visa when you are settling the bill". There was no sense of urgency, no suggestion I get it dealt with right away. The fact that I am a resident and he was my depenent was proved by the birth cert so I wasn't too worried.

Last night they were going to discharge him but he had a bit more diarrhoea so they said we should keep him in just to be safe though he was fine basically. OK I dutifully replied. Again, no mention of potential massive bill.

This morning, I went to immigration who said they had written to me asking for bank statements and marriage cert. I was able to sort out bank statements there and then and they already had marriage cert due to wife's visa app. They then said they could produce visa in an hour under the circumstances and assured me all would be fine with hospital.

Well, not so. Due to the fact that the visa starts from today, and despite my letter acknowledging application on 8/11 the Hospital policy is that he was not a resident ad so instead of 400 HKD our bill will be 8000 HKD.