Like Tree76Likes

Gonna be a dad, but my girlfriend is not a permanent resident

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Gonna be a dad, but my girlfriend is not a permanent resident

Long story short, first time dad here and I am a permanent resident but my girlfriend isn't. She is pregnant for about a month now(checked with a clinic)she is from the Philippines. We do plan to get married here soon but I just found out even if we got married here, she still cannot get a permanent a HKID. That is an issue because if she is, she can born the baby here with the government hospital at a much much lower cost. Right now I dont know where I can get my girlfriend to give birth in Hong kong because she is not a permanent resident, and the price of a private hospital is like 100K or more. That's too much for me to handle. what's my option here if anyone has experience, kind of lost right now on what to do

Does she have a HK ID Card? She doesn't have to be a permanent resident in order to use the discounted public hospital facilities.

BCD, shri, MABinPengChau and 1 others like this.

Pretty sure if you get married, she will get a dependent visa (if she doesn't have a HK ID now) and, voila, problem solved, use public hospitals. But, from what I understand, there are some not-insubstantial fees involved even with a public hospital so I think you do have some costs but not the much larger costs of a private hospital.

Congrats on the baby!

Coolboy likes this.

yes she does have an ID card but not a permanent resident. I have been looking around online and I cant seem to find anything that says something like that. do you have a source I can verified? I only found the price those public hospital will charge for a standard or c-section delivery. which is like 40 to 50k.

I also read that a local hk resident can get a baby delivered just by paying the hospital bed fee? which is like a hundred a night, is that true?