Airport Express and Netvigator

Closed Thread
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Pokfulam
    Posts
    204

    Airport Express and Netvigator

    I'm exhausted after my move into my apartment and can't seem to figure this out. I've never used any ISP that requires logging on every time and I now have Netvigator but I can't get my Airport Express to work with it. I connected the modem and the Airport Express, then I set up a 802.1x connection under Internet Connect with all the log on details and it doesn't work. Can anyone help?

    Thanks.


  2. #2
    Coolhand

    OK try this:
    Connect your computer to the modem.
    Open Internet Connect on system preferences.
    Open Built in Ethernet
    Enter account name ([email protected])
    enter password (passport number or whatever)
    check Show PPPoE status in menu bar, and click connect.


  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Pokfulam
    Posts
    204
    Quote Originally Posted by Coolhand:
    OK try this:
    Connect your computer to the modem.
    Open Internet Connect on system preferences.
    Open Built in Ethernet
    Enter account name ([email protected])
    enter password (passport number or whatever)
    check Show PPPoE status in menu bar, and click connect.
    That's what I did when I plug the modem directly into my computer and it works but then I don't get wireless. How do I get the Airport Express to get the internet connection?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Sham Tseng Downtown
    Posts
    492

    What you mean with airport express in this context???????


  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    23,205

    Airport Express is a wireless router used with Apple Macs... (it took me a moment to realise he wasn't talking about getting internet on a train!)


  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Pokfulam
    Posts
    204

    So sorry for the confusion!! I was so wiped out from my move that I had no idea I wasn't being clear. Yes, I mean the Apple wireless router Airport Express. How do I get it to work??


  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    mong kok
    Posts
    384
    Quote Originally Posted by applefan:
    So sorry for the confusion!! I was so wiped out from my move that I had no idea I wasn't being clear. Yes, I mean the Apple wireless router Airport Express. How do I get it to work??
    You were clear, I got you from the start. I've spent too much time dealing with this precise scenario. One helpful approach was to go to the Netvigator shop in Mong Kok near Argyle. I discovered I had been given the wrong password. Another is to go through the quick setup in Airport Setup Assistant...

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    145

    This might help

    I have been using an airport express with Netvigator for more than a year now and haven't had any problems.

    Step 1: Get your PC/Mac to connect to the Airport Express.

    On your PC, you are simply setting up a normal wireless connection
    to your airport express. Select "Automatically obtain an IP address"
    on your PC when asked to input the IP, subnet, Gateway etc.

    If your PC can connect to the AE unit, then continue..

    Step 2: Get your Airport Express connected to Netvigator.

    Firstly: Your PC will no longer "connect" to netvigator.. the airport
    express will "connect" to netvigator and share the connection with your PC over the wireless connection.
    On your computer, Install the Airport Express Admin software
    and open it up.
    Find the tab that says "internet" or similar and select the drop-down
    box that says "PPPoE". It will then ask you for username
    and password... This is your netvigator username/password.

    Your Airport express should re-start with the new settings and connect
    to Netvigator.

    Now, as long as your connection to the Airport express is good,
    you should be given access to Netvigator.

    P.S. Once it works, I would recommend you go back to the Airport
    express Admin program and enable some sort of encryption for your
    wireless network... Otherwise your next-door neighbour might decide to
    use your connection to connect to the internet.

    Let me know if this works.

    MH


  9. #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Pokfulam
    Posts
    204

    Albahk: Thanks for the post. After a few hours of sleep, I actually figured out myself and am now typing this post on my Mac using Airport Express!

    Quote Originally Posted by albahk:
    I have been using an airport express with Netvigator for more than a year now and haven't had any problems.

    Step 1: Get your PC/Mac to connect to the Airport Express.

    On your PC, you are simply setting up a normal wireless connection
    to your airport express. Select "Automatically obtain an IP address"
    on your PC when asked to input the IP, subnet, Gateway etc.

    If your PC can connect to the AE unit, then continue..

    Step 2: Get your Airport Express connected to Netvigator.

    Firstly: Your PC will no longer "connect" to netvigator.. the airport
    express will "connect" to netvigator and share the connection with your PC over the wireless connection.
    On your computer, Install the Airport Express Admin software
    and open it up.
    Find the tab that says "internet" or similar and select the drop-down
    box that says "PPPoE". It will then ask you for username
    and password... This is your netvigator username/password.

    Your Airport express should re-start with the new settings and connect
    to Netvigator.

    Now, as long as your connection to the Airport express is good,
    you should be given access to Netvigator.

    P.S. Once it works, I would recommend you go back to the Airport
    express Admin program and enable some sort of encryption for your
    wireless network... Otherwise your next-door neighbour might decide to
    use your connection to connect to the internet.

    Let me know if this works.

    MH