Slingbox Question

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Slingbox Question

Hi All.

What a wonderful sounding little machine. I have no experience with these things, so pardon me if I ask some silly questions. I looked on the Slingbox website, but it didnt quite answer the questions I had.

So essentially, I have a friend in Canada, who has full satelitte and cable coverage. I hook a slingbox locally into his receiver, and without disruption of viewing on his end, I can surf channels via the internet to my hearts content. Is that essentially true?

sirant

It transmits whatever channel his satellite decoder is receiving. If he changes the channel then it affects what you are watching. You also have control over the decoder over the internet.

Nope, you need a dedicated cable/satellite box for the Slingbox. Otherwise, you'd be restricted to what he was watching. If you changed the channel on your PC, you'd be changing the channel for him too. Correct me if I'm wrong guys

Ahhhh Ok

Thanks for the responses...

Too darn bad though.....

Wouldnt it be sweet if it werent setup that way?

sirant

Yeah it would be cool. I'm considering having my brother set one up for me since he might start working in New York soon. We usually watch the same/similar stuff so it wouldn't be an issue.

What about time difference

Wouldnt it work out ok with the time difference? You could watch things when your brother was at work etc...

I was thinking the same thing....

Quote Originally Posted by tonkfodder:
    Wouldnt it work out ok with the time difference? You could watch things when your brother was at work etc...
    With the time difference it might be ok. Plus, watching ANYTHING he is watching in English just has to be better than the endless barrage of mosquito, "let's keep hong kong clean" and breast enlargement commercials we get in Shenzhen.