ISP advice in Hong Kong

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

ISP advice in Hong Kong

After reading some of the posts on this site regarding setting up a broadband connection, I thought my husband and I would head over to the Wan Chai MTR area and sign up for an ISP.

We want a high speed broadband connection. We use the internet for both Vonage and a Slingbox. We don't need a regular phone, we are just going to use mobiles here. We don't need cable tv - we are planning to watch tv over the slingbox and save some money on buying a HK tv. We are living in Happy Valley and will move into Ventris Place complex at the end of January.

I am not that tech savvy like a lot of users here but really want some advice.

I was wondering if you can negotiate with the vendors in that area? I heard that internet service is provided over phone lines here, is that true? Also, is there anything else I need to bring with me, like a copy of the lease? Can every ISP provide service in every building if it's coming over the phone line?

Thanks!

Hi Thewongs..

Since you are staying in happy valley i think mostly all the major internet service providers has the coverage in that area.

As for some suggestions and idea i've listed some ISP below

Hong Kong Broadband 100mbps - 1000mbps (runs at fiber optic)
    PCCW Netvigator 1.5mbps - 18mbps (runs at LAN)
    HGC Hatchison 1.5mbps - 10Mbps (runs in fiber optic)
    I-cable 1.5Mbps - unknown (LAN/Cable)

This list is the best or common choice

And about the internet that runs through phone line.. isn't that Dial up connections (which is alot slower) Usually people only use that for back up connection.

Shivers

hello thewongs!

if you're going to use Netvigator here in HK, they use DSL connections that have modems that are hooked up to a phone line. thus it is needed in order to connect.