Which PDA??? Help!!!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Which PDA??? Help!!!

I am about to venture back into the world of PDA ownership.

I have been looking at a number of PDA's and having spoken to owners, read reviews, read some stuff on this this decided to go for the Treo 680. I am no expert in this field and hope if anyone could cast a wiser eye on my reasoning below and tell me if I have missed anything out. Here were the contenders:

Blackberry - Can't install 3rd party apps and besides, work have told me I am looking at a 10 month wait to get one. Shame, as the live emails would be nice.

O2 XDA - Battery life isn't great

Dopod - Tried one out and thought it was more of a 'SlowPod'. Seems very slow but feature rich.

HP - iPaq's etc - Tried one out which also had GPS - was fantastic to be able to drive around with it giving directions. Battery sucked and it lasted about 30 mins before dying on me. Do love the GPS though.

Treo - Opting for the 680 as it appears to be a Palm O/S version of the 750. It is 2k cheaper than the 750 and am told the battery life is very good from Treo users. Also I live the Palm O/S over Windows Mobile 5. Big plus for me - I am allowed to synchronise Palm O/S with my Lotus Notes at work. I am NOT allowed to install ActiveSync on my Laptop so would not be able to synchronise using Windows Mobile. Downside, no GPS and no 3G.

Is my logic correct above or have I missed anything out.

Thanks!

There is a GSM version 7 series Treo on Palm OS slated to be released soon. It's out for Sprint in the US I believe, but not for GSM unfortunately.

The 680 does run longer than other similar devices though the 650 is supposed to be even better. My 650 is performing very well indeed and a welcome improvement over the O2 Atom (and the Exec and Stealth from what I have read and heard).