Like Tree4Likes

Buying first DSLR: advice needed

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Buying first DSLR: advice needed

Hello everyone,
    I would like to buy my first DSLR as my compact just died. I am not a professional but love to take all kinds of pictures, especially my kids
    What camera do you recommend knowing that:
    - what is most important for me in a camera is the quality of image.
    - the camera must also be quick because my little ones are in perpetual motion
    - also sensitivity is a priority since I often take pictures inside or by night.
    - finally, I need a device that is simple to use, I am a beginner and do not have much time to make it a real job. So automatic mode will be mostly used at the beginning.
    I do not need video.
    What do you think of buying an entry-level DSLR with really good lenses ?
    I never tested lenses and I am afraid of losing spontaneousness changing lenses all the time (but I may be wrong) so what combination of lenses would you advise : zoom or fixed focal ? one large range (for example 18mm-200mm) or small ones (for example 18mm-55mm and 70mm-200mm)?
    Thank you very much !

For entry level DSLR I would go with the Nikon D3100 or Canon EOS 1100D. I suggest you go to a shop and play around to see which suits you better (handling, menu etc.), it can be quite subjective. Technically the two are on par.

For outdoor and travel I would go with a "walk-around" lens, like a 18-105 (Nikon) or 18-135 (Canon); both also have a 18-200 lens on offer but they are more costly and you may not need the long reach that often. (The longer the zoom range the more compromises need to be made in terms of quality)
    For indoor and low-light conditions a fast prime lens would be better when your kids are in action, e.g. a 35mm/1.8 (at least Nikon has such a DX lens, not sure about Canon).