sat nav / gps

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

sat nav / gps

im new to driving in hong kong and i would like to get a sat nav system. Does anyone have this and does it work well? i hear from people that the coverage is patchy.

Also which system is good, a pocket pc one or a dedicated unit ?

I was thinking about getting a GPS also, I ended up giving up on the idea, as I only needed one when driving in TST/ inner Kowloon and the North side of the island, where abundant one way rat run streets exist. The issue is, vehicle mounted GPS is useless in area's of the city that have a high density of tall buildings, blinding the GPS ability to recieve a signal, due to canyoning.

As we live out in the NT, where roads and signage are far easier to orientate anyway, we only needed a GPS for the north side of the island and the inner Kowloon road nightmare, it ended up being a wasted excercise to buy something, that doesnt even work in the area's of HK you need GPS most.

As far as I know, no land based vehicle GPS system, hand held or dedicated, work in Hong Kong to any reliable extent. Don't waste your money, unless you only plan to use it in the New Territories, where they do work effectively.

Last edited by Skyhook; 24-06-2007 at 04:08 PM. Reason: an additional point

The way streets come and go and exits work here there is no way you can use a GPS and not miss your turn/get the wrong one. Way better to follow the signs. The country after all is only 1000 square km with it's 200 islands you can't drive to.

Hong Kong is a city, ( a city of China ) not a country in its own right.

Quote Originally Posted by Skyhook
    Hong Kong is a city, ( a city of China ) not a country in its own right.
    Yet it competes as Hong Kong in the Olympics, no?

Quote Originally Posted by Raymeander
    im new to driving in hong kong and i would like to get a sat nav system. Does anyone have this and does it work well? i hear from people that the coverage is patchy.