Three-prong U.S.-based transformers

Reply
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    477

    Three-prong U.S.-based transformers

    Hi there, I've seen 2-prong electrical transformers but are there 3-prong transformers that suppor 110v? Just want to know what I can / can't bring over from the U.S.


  2. #2

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,384

    Yes, I've seen them at some specialist audio / video shops.


  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    23,221

    Yes there are plenty. Although you will need to take care when choosing one if it is important to you that the third pin is actually connected through to the ground on the HK plug - some units just have dummy sockets to accommodate the 3-pin US plug physically without actually making the ground connection.


  4. #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    477

    Yeah, I think I will need the 'real' third prong vs just a hole to connect. Can someone give me a name / address / tel of a store that sells 'true' 3-prong transformers? And also, plugging in a power surge strip to a 3 prong transformer (for multi-appliance use) would be hazardous huh?

    Also quick question. If i have a speaker or small electronic (eg. alarm clock etc) - can i just buy a HK power plug with the same voltage requirements to use for that small appliance? Ie. is the 110v vs. 220v requirement built INTO the device itself or is it just in the power adapter? Can the same device support different power adapters from different regions?

    I would assume HK should have tons of power transformer /adapters solutions as many people buy 'shui fo' from Japan (same voltage as US) and people need to power those things...? Thanks guys, as you can tell, I'm not a techo-geek...

    Last edited by goleoboy; 11-07-2007 at 07:54 PM.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    40

    The device should list its power requirements, look on the back or bottom for a sticker. If the input requirements read 100v 220v all you need is a plug adaptor. If it only accepts 110v then you need a transformer to step down the 220v to 110v or youll most likely damage your electronics.


  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    477

    You mean I cannot buy an entirely new power plug in HK for my U.S. devices that supports the same voltage output (eg. 9v) but with the HK-voltage input (220v)?


  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    23,221

    Yes you can - provided that the output of the power supply is the correct voltage (9V or whatever) and of sufficient current capacity (200mA or whatever).


  8. #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    477

    perfecto PDLM, i'll bring my plugs to SSP to buy the right 220v adapters. Thanks!!!!!!!!!


  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    40

    So I take it your power cord unplugs from the device? Then you also need to make sure the part that fits into the devise is the same. I would suggest either Sham Shui Po or MongKok for the best price and selection.

    Quote Originally Posted by PDLM
    Yes you can - provided that the output of the power supply is the correct voltage (9V or whatever) and of sufficient current capacity (200mA or whatever).

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    477

    Yes, I'm kinda talking about the ones that do unplug. The ones that don't, I guess will have to use a 3 prong transformer. :-)