Region Free DVD

Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    12

    Region Free DVD

    Hi,

    I recently bought a DVD player from Fortress and was told it was region free. After getting it home I noticed it only has region 3 listed on the back. I only really bought it because I thought it was region free. I have over 100 DVDs shipping from the US I wanted to play.

    Is there any place I can go to get it modified at low cost or am I stuck with it?


  2. #2

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,385

    Whats the model? Have you tried to put a region 1 dvd into it?

    Many players - despite the labeling (required perhaps for licensing reasons) will play multi-region dvds.


  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    135

    There is a way of doing it yourself through the remote control but you do run the risk of frying your dvd player. It worked ok with mine in the States but my brother 'fried' his. You would need the make and model # and the serial # on the back of the machine. I would need to find my notes on how I did it but it took less than 5 mins.


  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Fo Tan
    Posts
    2,389
    Quote Originally Posted by plexxx
    I recently bought a DVD player from Fortress and was told it was region free. After getting it home I noticed it only has region 3 listed on the back. I only really bought it because I thought it was region free. I have over 100 DVDs shipping from the US I wanted to play.
    Have you tried just bringing it back to Fortress and explaining the problem?
    Depending on your accent, "region FREE" and "region THREE" sound a lot alike. As in many cases in China, if the answer is really important you need to phrase the question in different ways and ask more than once.
    As a side note, we have a multi-region DVD player that stopped playing US DVDs. We called Fortress and a repairman came out and re-programmed the thing. I strongly suspect our (at the time) 10 month-old un-programmed it whilst playing with the remote.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    ShamShuiPo or Chicago
    Posts
    148

    Take a look at this site:

    and see if there are many others who have purchased the same model as yours. With popular models, it's possible that someone has figured out a hack to remove any region restrictions. Sometimes this is done by pressing the right buttons on the remote to access the service menu, othertimes it might require changing the firmware through a disc.

    As saphireruby indicated though, you can certainly risk permanently "bricking" the player if you don't know what you're doing.

    Shop around and note the various models available to you. Keep a list, go back to the videohelp website and see if any corresponding models on that list has a sure-fire hack to free up the region restriction.

    The other alternative is to carry a few region-encoded DVDs with you to the smaller mom'n'pop electronic shops. If they have a player that's truly region-free there shouldn't be any problems in demonstrating that to you on-the-spot.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    12

    Thanks for all the replies folks. I have my dvd collection arriving this week, then I will have many region 1 dvds to test with.

    Glad to see I have some possibility of getting around it if it does in fact only play region 3.


  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,164
    Quote Originally Posted by plexxx
    Glad to see I have some possibility of getting around it if it does in fact only play region 3.
    I think it's safe to say almost all of China branded DVD players can be made multi-region. Only Japanese brands have to be wary, Panasonic being one of the worst.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    12

    Mine is a samsung, hope its OK


  9. #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,385

    Should not be a problem with Samsung.

    Just google your model number and "region free"


  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Fo Tan
    Posts
    2,389

    We have a Samsung and it is multi-region.


Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast