Using Linksys X3000 Modem Instead of PCCW Netvigator Modem

Reply
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Works in Wan Chai
    Posts
    4

    Using Linksys X3000 Modem Instead of PCCW Netvigator Modem

    Hi All,

    Last year I was given a DB280 VDSL2 Modem by PCCW for my Netvigator home internet and TV package. Two weeks ago it started dropping out and when I checked it's age, I couldn't believe that this device is around 5 years old!

    Rather than risk the chance of being given another lemon, I bought a Linksys X3000 (Sham Shui Po) which is one of the best ADSL2 modems on the market. And according to the Cisco website it's compatible with PCCW http://homekb.cisco.com/Cisco2/ukp.a...rticleid=19892

    However, I'm still not able to connect to the Internet even after I tried using the following details:

    Connection type - PPPOE
    VPI setting - 1
    VCI setting - 32
    Encapulation Type - LLC/SNAP

    Are these details correct still? Has anyone else set one up?

    I noticed in the web setup page there are two main pages : one for ADSL (which I am using the above details) and Ethernet (haven't touched).

    Any help would be appreciated.

    If there are any network professionals out there who are open to on-call network jobs, I'm also happy to pay to get this configured properly.

    Cheers


  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,850

    Why wouldn't you just call PCCW and get them to deliver another modem for you?

    You are paying for it anyway as part of your broadband and NOW TV package!

    PCCW owns the hardware - you don't.

    Last edited by emx; 26-11-2012 at 05:58 PM.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4,835

    Er, what makes you think an ADSL modem will connect to a PCCW line configured for VDSL?


  4. #4

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Works in Wan Chai
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by emx
    Why wouldn't you just call PCCW and get them to deliver another modem for you?

    You are paying for it anyway as part of your broadband and NOW TV package!

    PCCW owns the hardware - you don't.
    Because they have junk hardware that doesn't guarantee the best connection nor will last. PCCW just delivered the new modem which is another no-name aftermarket device.

    I am totally aware that it is part of the TV / Internet package but I want to ensure that I have modem that ensures maximum throughput as well as is reliable.

    When I eventually leave I'll just take my modem with me.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Works in Wan Chai
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Gruntfuttock
    Er, what makes you think an ADSL modem will connect to a PCCW line configured for VDSL?
    The Linksys X3000 is compatible with PCCW's Netvigator from what I've read online.

    That was the name on the device - not necessarily that VDSL was being used.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4,835

    It may well be compatible with PCCW's ADSL service (which is what they use for speeds up to 8Mbit/s), but it's not going to work for a VDSL/VDSL2 line (30/100 Mbit/s).

    What speed service do you have from PCCW?


  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Works in Wan Chai
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Gruntfuttock
    It may well be compatible with PCCW's ADSL service (which is what they use for speeds up to 8Mbit/s), but it's not going to work for a VDSL/VDSL2 line (30/100 Mbit/s).

    What speed service do you have from PCCW?
    Very good question mate. Will have to confirm today.

    Hmmm...

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    4,312

    My PCCW 1000M comes with a huawei modem which is certainly capable of fully utilising the line...

    The weaker link is the wifi modem (I'm using an ASUS running dd-wrt)


  9. #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,563

    Did the OP finally get the Linksys X3000 Modem working on PCCW ADSL? Thanks!