The First Real Online TV Company?

Closed Thread

The First Real Online TV Company?

I have had ideas for online TV stations for the longest time, and it kills me to watch these pathetic companies build up cool sites, that have sooooo many huge drawbacks.

so...since i will never start this venture myself, i give it to you, with hopes that some smart individual will make it a reality:

Step 1: follow any online video site, such as hulu, stage6 (RIP), or whoever.

Step 2: make channels in HD and SD

Step 3: make it subscription based with no ads plus fullscreen, or free with ads

Step 4: make it available WorldWide

Step 5: collect the wealth

im not sure why these companies keep forgetting step 2, 3, and 4. Its like they just go from step 1 to 5, forgetting that you need the meat in order to make it more filling and last longer.

so anyone out there who knows how to make this happen?
    i can help with site design and artistic stuff, but im no coder.

Last edited by BenderLives; 28-05-2008 at 12:45 PM.

I think your main obstacle is 4. Most content owners look to re-coup revenue on a country-by-country basis, so are unwilling to let their content go on-line under global distribution terms.

Also, HD streaming is still in it's infancy. It would be difficult to offer HD globally, and if you could, the investment would be difficult to recoup in anything less than the medium-term.

Check out Joost.

#2: HD requires four times the bandwidth of SD so do the math.
    #4: Media is run by local cartels it is simply not possible to organise world-wide distribution rights.

Last edited by MrMoo; 28-05-2008 at 03:31 PM.

regarding #2 - starting with SD streaming only is fine, and then later upgrade little by little to HD streaming. many sites do this already.