DSLR for learning

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

DSLR for learning

Hiya! I'm gonna have my Photography class soon and I would like to buy a nice but cheap DSLR but I can't decide between Nikon and Canon... Things I want to know: what I should get since I'm just a newbie and where to buy? I was thinking of buying second hands but if there's something better thats good and cheap for starters like me then I might as well buy brand new... Thanks in advance =)

either Nikon or Canon would be fine but one way of choosing is also knowing which brand your friends are using so that you can borrow some of their lens, flash, accessories etc....

But for me i'd Choose Nikon, you can get new ones now for less than $5K either D50 or D60 + little more though while the D40 is fine too but it would only AF with the newer AFS lenses. These come with a starter kit lens of 18-55mm.

try to do a search in the FS section, just type in Nikon or Canon. BTW where is you class held?

HTH

Hi
    I personally started off with a Nikon, pretty comfortable and easy to learn. Not sure about the Cannon items tough. They are meant to be a bit more costlier and also mostly you cannot use the older lenses on the Cannon. But Nikon wants their customer to save their money so they have kept the design of the mount to fit older lenses too. I would suggest you to pick up a D60 as D 50 is not more in existence. D60 has good compatiability with all lenses as against cheaper D40 or D40X. And also felt really good in hands.. so Hope you join the world of Photography. and have a really nice time

In my opinion I'd go for the canon reble XTi. as it has been in the market for some time, it has come down in price. Nikon doesn't offer a camera that is as good until the d40x which is newer and tends to cost more.
    Lenses cost the same roughly, i'd go with aftermarket. They are cheap and preform as well.

canon vs nikon, chocolate vs vanilla