going to HK to buy a mac

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

going to HK to buy a mac

I'm thinking about going to Hong Kong to buy a macbook pro in about 2-3 months since the prices in Mainland China are so high. So I was wondering if anybody knows if I the education discount is offered at the apple reseller DG Lifestyle Store. I'm a teacher in mainland China so I don't think that I would qualify so I would also like to know if there's anybody that would be willing to go with me and buy the computer so i can save some money

fm7

If you are looking for educational discount I would look first for the educational resellers that should be listed on the Apple website. I had a bad experience with DG when I was buying my Mac Pro and wound up ordering direct from Apple, which is what I also did my iPod and will do when it comes time to upgrade my notebook.

I have a friend with a Mac in Shanghai and says that they are expensive to service and get parts for if you ever need to have repairs done. Something to keep in mind.

In my experience, you get about the same price in small stores that carry Apple computer than with the official price with educational discount. There was one in Elizabeth house and there's also one in the Wanchai computer centre

I believe this outfit offered ed discount:
    Senco Masslink Technology Limited
    10/F MLC Tower, 248 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong.

People I knew had to go through the school though...

As for parts and service, I've been on Mac's for over 15 years and I've never had a single problem and the only parts I bought were RAM sticks and an airport card when they were not included...

I have to use Windows at work and it boggles my mind why people put themselves through this to save a few dollars. You pay for it in time, security and reliability...