3HK tethering?

Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    in my home
    Posts
    3,463

    3HK tethering?

    ive never used tethering before...but wanted to try it out on the new iphone 3.0. i was just worried that 3HK might charge extra fee for this?

    is it possible for them to know that im connecting via tethering?
    and does anyone know if they are charging extra for this based on existing current iphone tarrif plans?


  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ???
    Posts
    27,353

    3's data speeds are honestly not all that good. You might be better of getting a single device WiFI plan from PCCW.

    I tend to use WiFi a lot more on my phone than 3G data...


  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,164

    Considering that AT&T is not going to support it for the short term, I think 3 would have to configure something to enable you to tether.

    AT&T: we'll offer tethering on the iPhone

    Last edited by MrMoo; 10-06-2009 at 01:49 PM.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ???
    Posts
    27,353

    MrMoo - I suspect it is done through the firmware. AT&T probably has a custom firmware delivered to their users.


  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    in my home
    Posts
    3,463

    tethering is working for some customers around the world, just dont know of anyone tested it yet for the GM release on 3HK. i know it was working for beta versions, but again there has been no mention of if 3HK charges extra for these data connections through tethering. i dont want to do it and find a large sum of money being collected later on.

    as for speeds...yes...sadly i know. 3G on the #HK network seems comparable to 2G speeds most of the time. although sometimes i am in a special spot that will connect fast. I am starting to hate 3HK since i am getting more and more spots around HK where the connection drops off completely and suddenly. and this is in places that i know used to work a year ago with same phone and same 3G plan. it seems they got an increase in users and the network fell apart? i dont know.


  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ???
    Posts
    27,353

    I've got developer access to the 3.0 firmware .... just don't have a comp running OS/X (next week's project) to install the test firmware.


  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    in my home
    Posts
    3,463

    want to buy one from me?
    i got an imac im looking to unload for an upgrade, and a powerbook G4 id like to see disappear.


  8. #8

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ???
    Posts
    27,353

    Bender - Nah . have a nice little netbook that I'm going to figure out how to get OS/X onto. By the way, have sent an email to my contact at 3 to see if they'll be supporting it.


  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    in my home
    Posts
    3,463

    thanks shri


  10. #10

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Sai Ying Pun
    Posts
    542
    Quote Originally Posted by BenderBends
    want to buy one from me?
    i got an imac im looking to unload for an upgrade, and a powerbook G4 id like to see disappear.
    Bender..

    how much for the powerbook G4? I'm not very up to date with my mac's but need something with an OS (no matter how old or rubbish it is) that i can prat about with, break and fix.. that kind of thing.

    PM me prices please

    Cheers

Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast