Wireless networking problem with Netvigator

Reply
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    47

    Angry Wireless networking problem with Netvigator

    Hi All,

    Recently got Netvigator DSL connection at home but for some reason the Wireless network that I am trying to set up doesn't work properly. The connection works sometimes but mostly it cannot download the page "No page to display"

    Configuration
    NEC DSL modem (from PCCW)
    NETGEAR MR 814v2 (my own)
    Thinkpad T40

    The icon in the sytem tray says
    Speed: 11 Mbps
    Signal Strenght: Excellent
    Status: Connected

    My laptop is right next to the router so it is not a problem of signal strength.

    I also tried to install the connection using "IBM Access Connections" but not much help, in there also it shows "Excellent" connection.

    I logged into the the NETGEAR Router and tried to change the channel and all but nothing helped.
    Neither MAC address nor WEP security is turned on.

    I am not much of a technical person.

    Any ideas how can I diagnose the problem and resolve it.
    When I call Netvigator support line then I have to connect directly to the modem using the cable and then it works fine. They won't support the wireless.

    Iceman


  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    23,217

    It doesn't sound like the problem is the wireless per se (if you can log on to the router over wireless then it certainly isn't).

    If you plug in to a wired port on the Netgear does it work or not?

    Have you set up the User ID and password (and PPPoE connection method) correctly in the Netgear router? For hassle-freeness you should also clone the MAC address of your laptop on the Netgear - all ISPs can sometimes get a bit funny about seeing multiple MAC addresses.

    Last edited by PDLM; 02-01-2006 at 05:06 PM.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,384

    If you log into the Netgear, is it connected to Netvigator and have a netvigator IP address? Also, can you ping www.netvigator.com from the router's web based diagnostics?


  4. #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    47

    Many thanks for the replies, I am getting really frustrated with this problem

    PDLM

    Following is the router status that I can see when I login to my router over wireless, let me know if something looks odd or weird.
    I have configured the netvigator login in my router and also connecting through PPPoE, don't know how to change MAC address though.

    Router Status

    Account Name MR814v2
    Firmware Version Version 5.03 Nov 18 2003

    Internet Port
    MAC Address 00:04:23:81:e8:ce
    IP Address 220.246.164.32
    DHCP PPPoE
    IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
    Domain Name Server

    218.102.62.71
    205.252.144.126


    LAN Port
    MAC Address 00:0f:b5:14:5e:76
    IP Address 192.168.0.1
    DHCP On
    IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

    Wireless Port
    Name (SSID) Raj
    Region Asia
    Channel 11
    Wireless AP On
    Broadcast Name On


    KIA

    I don't know how to ping from the router but I tried to do ping IBM Access Connections->Network->Diagnostics
    I tried www.netvigator.com and couple of times the "Request Timed Out"
    Then i did the same for www.cnn.com and all the ping packets timed out


  5. #5

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    4,279

    iceman make sure that the radio light at the bottom of the lcd on the row of lights is permanently on. Also if you are leaving the notebook unattended for some time it may be automatically switching off the radio to conserve power if not plugged in to the ac. To keep the radio on enable the high performance mode.


  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,384

    No clue what this IBM access is.. third party utilities are usually the problem.

    Can you go to your control panel and look at the Network Connections. Do you see a wireless connection in there?

    if you see a wireless connection, can you right click on the wireless connection and do a "view available networks". Do you see one called "Raj"?


  7. #7

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    4,279

    IBM Access Connections Manager is the best software for his IBM T40.


  8. #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    47
    KIA

    Yes, I do see a connection called "Raj" with 100% signal strength

    discobay

    I am not leaving the Laptop unattended, I am sitting on it and hitting refresh page.
    The LCD radio light is not "ON" permanently, it keeps coming on and off.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,384

    Ok.. .so

    1) You can see the router
    2) The router connects properly to netvigator

    All you need to do is now figure out how to connect your computer to the router.

    What I'd recommend you do is remove ALL encryption and security from the router and see if you can connect to it from your notebook. Disable all WEP / WPA / Mac Address filtering..

    The router should be setup to support DHCP for clients.

    Now, if you can connect to the router from using the wireless connection on your notebook, the chances are you had some security related config problems. Work your way by adding some security back. The chances are there is an issue with how the security / encryption Key gets negotiated / exchanged.


  10. #10

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    4,279

    Maybe a hardware fault.


Reply
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast