Web host recommendations?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Web host recommendations?

I'm a complete noob when it comes to Web hosting, so please be gentle...

I've been blogging for a short time on WordPress.com and now starting to find its limitations. I'm looking at using some specific plugins, which it doesn't have, and I've already seen a sizeable chunk of my online storage capacity used up with the photos I've uploaded.

I was thinking, to migrate the blog as painless as possible, it'd be using WordPress.org and have read various articles online how to do it (most probably with the easiest one click option via scripts).

Nearly everyone of these sites mention Bluehost, are they good? Any other recommendations? Remember this is for someone who's a complete noob with all this. Something with a super duper easy interface or something......

Sent from my GT-N7100 using GeoClicks mobile app

The only hosting I buy is for a very simple website using an obscure (and obsolete) CMS, not WordPress, and that's on A2 Hosting. I have no complaints at all - reliable, quick, good communication via newsletters & alerts (for maintenance/upgrade issues etc). The user interface works fine for me, and on the one occasion that I needed their customer support (when the site was hacked, through no fault of theirs) it was excellent - they were the ones who alerted me (within minutes) to the hack, took appropriate lock down measures, and they were swift and helpful in supporting me to get the site back up and running.

I do have some exposure also to GoDaddy where I occasionally help out a friend who has hosting there (but again not WordPress), and they seem pretty solid as well. I also get some domain hosting from them.

Last edited by Gruntfuttock; 10-11-2013 at 06:47 PM.

Thanks for the info, I'm trying to stop myself from making a rush decision, want to plan ahead for what I will being doing with webhosting in the future, and then see if the webhost meets my needs.