4G mobile broadband versus PCCW fixed line DSL?

Reply
Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 2 7 8 9 10
  1. #91

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Yuen Long
    Posts
    1,524
    Quote Originally Posted by SeptimusPrime:
    The smartone person has mention that I cannot use a 4g router. Has anyone found a solution or alternative to this plan?
    Talk to CSL about their unlimited data sim only.

  2. #92

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    9

    Yes I have. It requires some pretty serious modification to the router to give it a smartphone IMEI. You will need a 1.8V serial cable and a soldering iron to get a terminal on the flash chip. From there you will have to send a series of commands including a data unlock request (passcode) to reprogram the IMEI permanently on the router so it appears as a smartphone on the smartone network. PM me if you decide to go this route for more information. Some routers have a built SSH software so if your lucky and have one of those it negates the soldering work but the key to change IMEI in most huawei routers is the data unlock AT command (even though the router is unlocked ) prior to the IMEI change AT command.


  3. #93

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    香港
    Posts
    1,156
    Quote Originally Posted by jb_bak:
    Yes I have. It requires some pretty serious modification to the router to give it a smartphone IMEI. You will need a 1.8V serial cable and a soldering iron to get a terminal on the flash chip. From there you will have to send a series of commands including a data unlock request (passcode) to reprogram the IMEI permanently on the router so it appears as a smartphone on the smartone network. PM me if you decide to go this route for more information. Some routers have a built SSH software so if your lucky and have one of those it negates the soldering work but the key to change IMEI in most huawei routers is the data unlock AT command (even though the router is unlocked ) prior to the IMEI change AT command.
    Sounds like it would be a good idea to buy a router that allows command line changing of IMEI. Any recommendations?

  4. #94

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    9

    Yes the B315s is the model that has SSH built in. I remember the key to getting the change imei AT command with that one was sending two different unlock request first. PM me for details on that if you get that far.


  5. #95

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    454

    Can't you just use a cheap phone as a hotspot?


  6. #96

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    9

    Sure, though it's not a very robust way of doing it. Your going to have a reduced signal and if you need any type of firewall settings would be tricky. I guess you could lay the phone near a router with ddwrt firmware setup as a wireless bridge. But again, not a very robust (stable) way of doing things


  7. #97

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,592

    So just to confirm: if taking out the Smartone 4G 6gb + FUP package; you can no longer use the SIM card in a "non-smartphone" device? E.g. a 4G Dongle or router

    I'm being told by SmartTone that the first 6gb can still be used in a modem, but after the first 6gb, it needs to be in a phone

    Quote Originally Posted by paul45:
    Coming back to close the loop on my experience. Went to Smartone and got the data only account, 6GB + FUP. I think I'm paying around HK$500 for that per month. The USB 4G dongle (Huawei brand) costs about HK$1500 I think, which is included in my monthly payment. I ordered the Dovado 4G/LTE modem bridge from the UK (check the Dovado website, they will give you the name of the dealer). I tested the USB dongle first in my PC, which required some Smartone software. It was setup and connected in about 2 minutes. Unplugged the dongle and then connected the Dovado to the PC by Ethernet cable and set that up for bridge mode. I don't recall any other adjustments I needed to make. Plugged the dongle into the Dovado and connected the Dovado by Ethernet cable to my home router's WAN port. The Dovado/router take a minute or so to establish the connection. And that was it, very straightforward and easy to setup. I'm now getting a pretty steady 20-30Mb/s connection at my house, which compares to 4-5Mb/s on the old PCCW DSL (advertised as 8Mb/s) line. That line is sitting idle now, but I may connect it to the helper's room so they can use that until the contract is up this summer. In terms of usage, we blow through the 6GB within the first 2 days of the month usually (I get a text message). I honestly can't see any dropoff in speed or coverage after we go to "FUP" so it hasn't been an issue thus far.
    @paul45 Any updates on how you are finding this at present (re using the Smartone FUP 4G service)?

Reply
Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 2 7 8 9 10