Wi-Fi issues with Dell notebook

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

in an underground bunker at an undisclosed location

Wi-Fi issues with Dell notebook

Hi all,

I have a Dell Inspiron 1520 laptop that I have been using trouble free for almost two years. I dont take it around much and have been using it around my apartment where I have a wi-fi setup (typical Netvigator installation; 8Mbps ADSL broadband connection, with a Buffalo Wireless router that I have setup and have been using for 3+ years). Regularly I have been getting the the listed speeds on my laptop as is listed possible with the built-in wifi (802.11b/g supported) with 54Mbps.

Lately though, my connection seems to have slowed to a crawl. I check the wifi connections and I only seem to receive 1Mbps or 5Mbps at the best. I have tried to re-adjust wifi settings on my laptop and also resetting my router (cant do much with the modem as it is PCCW provided), but the problem keeps re-appearing. Inputting the settings and changing WEP passwords I've also tried, but to no avail. Even used another router I had borrowed, still the same. Router gives a strong, full signal, but somehow the speeds I'm getting are only a fraction.

Any ideas on what the problem could be? with my notebook or the connection? Much appreciated!

Possibly the notebook, Have you checked to see if theres any driver updates etc?

Are you able to borrow another laptop and see what speeds they're getting?

The WiFi signal as opposed to transfer rate you are seeing?

Lower WiFi rates means other networks or wireless phones nearby, it is designed to reduce it's data rate under interference.

Last edited by MrMoo; 10-03-2009 at 01:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by jimbo:
    Possibly the notebook, Have you checked to see if theres any driver updates etc?

Are you able to borrow another laptop and see what speeds they're getting?
    Hi Jimbo,

I have checked for driver updates, but there aren't any for the wifi module specifically.