Seeking Advice on Domain Names and Building Website

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Seeking Advice on Domain Names and Building Website

Hello! I would like to seek advice based on experiences on whether I should be registering a domain name with the .com.hk or internationally with the .com only. As well, in searching for a web designer and provider, I often note that these providers offer to domain registry as well. I'm thinking of opening a company-based website for my company but really don't have much clue on the above. Thanks!

Get both. A .com costs $9 US or something through Yahoo. You can put in redirects so they both go to the same webpage.

Highly recommend both Yahoo and 1&1 for registering your domain and hosting your website.

Summaries of their offerings are on DevLib (one of our sites)
    Yahoo Hosting

1&1

Recommend Yahoo if you're a complete novice.

1) Do not allow your web designer to register the domain on your behalf .. like you would not register your apartment in your interior decorators name.

2) Ditto for hosting.

Both Yahoo and 1&1 offer several templates which you can put together into a neat and useable site.

A good place for designers -- www.designoutpost.com

Register with .com or .com.hk doesn’t make too much difference but you may concern the following:

- Cost for .com is a little bit higher than .com.hk because of its internationality
    - .com or .com.hk is depends on the majority of your target market. When your business is mainly for international customer, .com is recommended. If you are more focus on the local market and would like to emphasize it, then .com.hk is more suitable.

Agree with KnowItAll. You don’t really need someone to register the domain name for you since it is like finger clicking easy. And at the end of the day, the service charge will be on you.

Quote Originally Posted by Muse: