Will UK Vodaphone iPhone 4 work in HK?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Will UK Vodaphone iPhone 4 work in HK?

Please excuse my noob questions but I'm a total novice when it comes to smart phones.

I'm thinking of buying a UK iPhone 4 from a guy when I'm home in the UK forthe summer. He says it was bought on Vodafone but he has tried an Orange sim which worked so he assumes it's unlocked. Does that mean it'll work in HK? If I buy a sim contract in HK will I be able to use 3G and all the phone's features?

Thanks, I've tried looking online and I'm seeing stuff about EDGE and I'm utterly clueless...

If its network unlocked, then yes it will work in HK.

Quote Originally Posted by pin:
    If its network unlocked, then yes it will work in HK.
    I'm also a newbie with Iphones so couple of dumb questions from me:

1) I assume any/all iPhones can be unlocked by a skilled individual (SinTat), am I right? Are there any that are impossible to unlock (some special hardware in there)?

2) What is an approximate cost to have a phone unlocked?

I'm not giving up my dumb-phone anytime soon, but just curious....

Sarcasm - because beating the crap out of people is illegal

Howard, iPhones sold in Hong Kong are already unlocked.

Quote Originally Posted by Claire ex-ax:
    Howard, iPhones sold in Hong Kong are already unlocked.
    Yup, yup - aware. But my parents (Canada) and inlaws (UK) dont have the same luxury...Hence my curiosity questions.

Quote Originally Posted by HowardCoombs:
    I'm also a newbie with Iphones so couple of dumb questions from me:

1) I assume any/all iPhones can be unlocked by a skilled individual (SinTat), am I right? Are there any that are impossible to unlock (some special hardware in there)?
    Yes they can be unlocked, but there is no guarantee that they won't get locked again inadvertently during a iOS upgrade or connecting to iTunes. It is better that you can get them legitimately unlocked through the carrier.