need help from tech wizards - Palm, ipaq, options

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

need help from tech wizards - Palm, ipaq, options

Hi, am looking for some help/ opinions/ advice. . .

i've been using a Palm since 2000 and have ben sooo happy with their o/s. i use it like semi-diary/ journal in addition to the usual appointments, contacts, notes, etc. My last Palm - a Zire 71 - seemed to be dying so i panicked and got an ipaq 121 because i was told the palm o/s would become outdated pretty soon.

I hate the ipaq. i cannot store all my data on it - i only sync 6 months worth each time. it only has my calendar (6 months) and contacts. if i try syncing anything else, it hangs or takes ages (we've kept it syncing overnight and still did not get it done!). My hubby says i have too much info - which i do - but if the ipaq has so much available memory, why can't it store my info? since yesterday, it just won't sync. My info is on my Microsoft outlook calendar but nothing is on the ipaq. Hubby tries a soft reset and followed some steps off the internet but to no avail!

I have a few questions :

1- for someone like me, who uses her PDA as a semi-diary and has lots of data to store (i want to keep all my info from 2000) - what's a good PDA to use? or must i get a smartphone because PDA's are also becoming obsolete?

2- if all my info is now on Microsoft outlook, is there a way i can get it all coppied into a Palm Desktop software, buy a new Palm and sync it to the handheld?

3- if i get a Palm with Windows Mobile o/s, can i easily just sync what i have in my Microsoft outlook now to the new handheld/ smartphone ( i think all of Palm's Windows o/s is on smartphones, not PDA's?)

I hope someone out there is familiar with all this. I am lost without an organizer. . .

Thanks.

I ran a Palm TX until the battery started dying last week. This morning I switched to an even older Palm T3 which has been sitting around for five or so years.