Will cracked Blackberry Bold functions work in HK?

Reply
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    47

    Will cracked Blackberry Bold functions work in HK?

    I have a Blackberry Bold from Canada (Rogers), and plan to crack it and take it with me to HK, and wanted to know if anyone has done this with success? Also, will the Blackberry functions work in HK; like the blackberry messaging.

    Of course, I'll be looking for a voice and data plan in HK. I'm on a 500MB data plan and find it all right for what I use the phone for. Suggestions are appreciated.
    Posted via Mobile Device


  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    42

    It'll work, just need to call Rogers to release the PIN/delete your BIS account or it won't be able to register on the BIS services here.

    There's no 500MB plan for BlackBerry Phones... It's either like 1MB, 3MB... or Unlimited.


  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    47

    So I can't get the PIN from ebay or something similar?
    Posted via Mobile Device


  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    47

    I see. Thanks, I'll have to right on that then.
    Posted via Mobile Device


  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong.
    Posts
    1,355
    Quote Originally Posted by dldanielau:
    PIN is for the device, Blackberry is fully control their devices by PIN numbers. As said, just make sure get Roger consent to release PIN to you.
    Alternatively, just flash the entire BB software and be done with it.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    47

    What is the difference in flashing the entire BB software and getting pin?
    Posted via Mobile Device


  7. #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong.
    Posts
    1,355
    Quote Originally Posted by scriptmonkey:
    What is the difference in flashing the entire BB software and getting pin?
    Posted via Mobile Device
    You don't need the PIN to flash the software.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by hida7086:
    Make sure you download the right software, Blackberry has customized software release to operators.
    So after we find the right software to flash the phone the BIS will continue to work in Hong Kong--people who know my Blackberry pin can continue to Blackberry message me etc? Just making sure :P