Are DVD drives region-free for life?

Reply
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
  1. #11

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    4,279

    As I thought the b*****ds told me a pack of them.


  2. #12

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tin Shui Wai
    Posts
    660

    Well maybe they didnt, it also depends on what dvd player your using.
    The dvd drive itself may be unlocked but there may still be software locks, such as the ones used by Power DVD and the likes.


  3. #13

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    4,279

    Let's explore this further. My previous DVD rewriter with PowerDVD hit the maximum change limit of 5 some time back. The new DVD rewriter is now showing the prompt indicating that 4 changes remain. If it is software controlled then surely my changes are already up.


  4. #14

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tin Shui Wai
    Posts
    660

    well Power DVD will detect that you have a new dvd player, and has reset the change to the original 5times.
    Try running DVD genie to bypass the software lock on Power dvd.
    Or get a copy of "any dvd" or "DVD region free".

    Good luck,
    /J


  5. #15

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tin Shui Wai
    Posts
    660

    And here is the link to the dload;
    Its free ware by the way, so its a legal dload.

    http://www.inmatrix.com/files/dvdgenie_download.shtml


  6. #16

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    4,279

    Ta very much. So, PowerDVD resets itself each time it detects a change in the drive hardware hmm...


  7. #17

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tin Shui Wai
    Posts
    660

    Oh and by the way, im quiet sure this problem only appears on DELL's
    hehehehe

    Let me know if dvd genies solved it or not.
    /J


Reply
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2