Like Tree11Likes

Help: US TV not working with NowTv box

Reply
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
  1. #11

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Island East
    Posts
    4,938

    maybe you will need something like this then, print out the picture and head to one of the computer centres in HK to see if they have such a thing, depending on where you live, either Wan Chai / Mong Kok / Sham Shui Po.

    Atlona AT-HD560 Pal hdmi to NTSC hdmi video converter Atlona AT-HD560 Pal to NTSC HDMI video converter scaler

    spode likes this.

  2. #12

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    10,701
    Quote Originally Posted by FZK:
    We did sign up for it, 2 year contract too...was recommended by husband's colleague. What's wrong with nowtv?
    It's useless. Nothing up to date. you will be watching 3-yr-old series at stupid times of day. Unless you need sports, it's a complete and utter waste of time. Pretty much every expat signs up when they arrive without thinking and cancels as soon as they can!

  3. #13

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Island East
    Posts
    4,938

    Now TV, was it free when u signed up or added monthly fee on top of the internet??


  4. #14
    FZK
    FZK is offline

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by chuckster007:
    Now TV, was it free when u signed up or added monthly fee on top of the internet??
    No it's not free. It's about $300 extra

  5. #15

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    10,701

    Yikes . You were done.

    kimwy66 likes this.

  6. #16

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Island East
    Posts
    4,938
    Quote Originally Posted by FZK:
    No it's not free. It's about $300 extra
    Oh crap, u could have a got an Internet TV box with live tv channels for HK$700, no contract, no monthly fees, loads of more channels than what Now TV offer

    Oh well, get your TV sorted out 1st, good luck.

  7. #17

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    686

    A lot of the shows are now aired same day as the US. It's not all bad. Although the only reason I have it is for sports. I download most TV shows or watch on Netflix.

    It's not as bad as most people say over here. The picture quality is way better than those streaming boxes.


  8. #18

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5,539
    Quote Originally Posted by HK_Katherine:
    Your TV is probably 60hz and the Now TV box is expecting 50hz. See if you can find a setting in hz and change that.
    That totally doesn't matter (to the switching power suppler that outputs DC).

    Now to the actual problem - there isn't enough information. The TV should be multi-system, some setting should work.

  9. #19

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    300

    If you are paying good money to Now TV, then can't you call them out to come and get your tv connected up for you? They did all ours. We haven't had any problems with our tv, but our internet coverage through the house wasn't great and they've been out twice to sort it out for us at no extra charge.

    I agree Now TV is expensive for what you get, but we have stuck with it. We have it mainly for the news channels as I am addicted to rolling news. Our package came with the PVR, so we don't have to watch the programmes live, we can set them to record.


  10. #20

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Island East
    Posts
    4,938

    @Scousebanana mate the OP stated "NowTv technician has no clue how to fix it."
    The technician has to install/set up the Now box but couldnt so the OP is stuck.


Reply
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast