Like Tree11Likes

Help: US TV not working with NowTv box

Reply
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
  1. #1
    FZK
    FZK is offline

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    7

    Lightbulb Help: US TV not working with NowTv box

    Hi everyone,
    We made the mistake of bringing our furniture and appliances with us from the US. Now we need an adapter/converter for everything electric, to switch from 110V to 220V.
    Our samsung TV doesn't work with the local cable company. We got a NowTv box and that doesn't seem to work either. Keep getting an error "Mode not supported, change the resolution". NowTv technician has no clue how to fix it.
    Any of you went through the same thing? How did you manage to make you other appliances work? did you get a transformer/converter (those things are big and bulky!) for everything (toaster, vacum...etc)?
    Thanks!
    FZ


  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    10,701

    Your TV is probably 60hz and the Now TV box is expecting 50hz. See if you can find a setting in hz and change that.


  3. #3
    bdw
    bdw is offline

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5,889

    You are connecting the NowTV box to you TV through a HDMI cable, or the old yellow/red/white type of cables? I thought it should work fine through the HDMI. Unless you have a really old TV. But honestly you should not have brought 110V only stuff to Hong Kong, its just going to be a hassle connecting everything up with voltage converters. Some low power stuff can use lighter and cheaper convertors but high power stuff like vacuum cleaners and toasters are gonna need some big ass clunky and expensive converters. Also is not effecient, you will be paying a lot more for electricity.


  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Wrong side of the door to hell
    Posts
    6,036
    Quote Originally Posted by FZK:
    Hi everyone,
    We made the mistake of bringing our furniture and appliances with us from the US. Now we need an adapter/converter for everything electric, to switch from 110V to 220V.
    Our samsung TV doesn't work with the local cable company. We got a NowTv box and that doesn't seem to work either. Keep getting an error "Mode not supported, change the resolution". NowTv technician has no clue how to fix it.
    Any of you went through the same thing? How did you manage to make you other appliances work? did you get a transformer/converter (those things are big and bulky!) for everything (toaster, vacum...etc)?
    Thanks!
    FZ
    I think the biggest mistake you made was signing up to Now TV.
    shri, chuckster007, jimbo and 4 others like this.

  5. #5
    FZK
    FZK is offline

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    7

    How can I change it?


  6. #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Island East
    Posts
    4,937
    Quote Originally Posted by kimwy66:
    I think the biggest mistake you made was signing up to Now TV.
    it could be that they signed up for broadband and got Now TV for free (some free channels) so dont kick while they are down yet LOL

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Island East
    Posts
    4,937
    Quote Originally Posted by FZK:
    How can I change it?
    Answer BDW question "You are connecting the NowTV box to you TV through a HDMI cable, or the old yellow/red/white type of cables?

  8. #8
    FZK
    FZK is offline

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    7

    Tried connecting through HDMI and yellow/red/white...both didn't work.Kept getting an error "Mode not supported, change the resolution". It's a new 70' samsung TV.
    Yes we do realize now that it was a bad idea bringing our stuff with us. Would have been better to sell it in the US and get new stuff here.


  9. #9
    FZK
    FZK is offline

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by chuckster007:
    it could be that they signed up for broadband and got Now TV for free (some free channels) so dont kick while they are down yet LOL
    We did sign up for it, 2 year contract too...was recommended by husband's colleague. What's wrong with nowtv?

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Tsim Sha Tsui
    Posts
    3,988

    Isn't the TV NTSC and the local output is PAL?

    spode likes this.

Reply
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast