Netvigator, Xbox 360 and Windows Media Centre

Closed Thread

Netvigator, Xbox 360 and Windows Media Centre

Hi all,

Newbie here, i am wondering if anybody could please help me. I have just moved apartments and am having difficulty connecting my xbox 360 to my Windows Media Centre on my PC. I am subscribed to Now TV and broadband and i want to connect my xbox 360 to my Windows Media Centre on my PC via the netvigator modem/router to allow me to watch movies on my tv. In my old apartment i had no trouble connecting, however, now i am really struggling. Before, all i did was connect my Xbox 360 and PC via a router and i was away. The problem lies (i think) in the netvigator modem/router. I have contacted now tv and they have said that the netvigator works as both a modem and a router all in one. So, it should be a case of connecting the xbox and pc up through the netvigator modem/router? I have tried this and the xbox cannot locate the pc. I am thinking the problem is the netvigator modem but now tv have assured me that isn't the problem, so what else could it be? Would i be better off buying a 'proper' router and connecting everything through that rather than the netvigator one?

Many thanks

Pete

Have changed you netvigator service? Do you now have the wireless modem router?

If so I can make a guess at your problem. The nevigator modem doesn't seem to support / have UPnP. I have my PS3 'connected' via the netvigator wireless modem router to my PC so it can stream files. To make this work I had to upgrade to media player11 which allows the whole thing to work with DLNA (pardon my clumsy use of computer terms as this is a stretch for my limited computer skills!)

Last edited by DavidHK; 14-03-2009 at 05:06 PM.

Hi David,

Thanks for your reply.

This is the new netvigator i have - Netvigator Wireless Modem