one stop bank - HSBC or Citibank?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

one stop bank - HSBC or Citibank?

I need my bank to manage both my banking and advise me on, and manage my investment needs. I am not a financial expert and am moving to a country that's less internationally connected for investments. So I need a good adviser. I thought it may be easier to have my bank advise me on money management as they're well connected world over, and I can transfer funds more easily. I am considering HSBC and Citi due to their network.

The pluses & minuses about HSBC:
    1. Great online banking service (I already have an account with them)
    2. Seem effficient
    3. Very high commission rates on all investment transactions
    4. All discussions with investment advisers end with their advising me to buy particular products rather than taking an integrated view of my portfolio
    5. Took ages to upgrade me to premier status though I had a balance way above the minimum for several months - which leads me to believe they're too big to be interested in someone who's not likely to be pumping in lots more money

and about Citi:
    1. Already have a relationship with them outiside HK that's worked well
    2. seem to take a more integrated approach to managing my account
    3. Lag in online banking services
    4. Hidden charges???? (I have no experience of this- I have only read this on other websites
    5. Inertia of opening another account. At least temporarily will have to manage both Citi and HSBC accounts in HK if I open with Citi as well.

I would want advise from my money manager on where to move my funds from time to time. I am more sensitive to returns ( and all associated risks) as I am taking a huge pay cut, and don't plan to return to the well-paid corporate life anytime soon. Would really appreciate inputs.