hibor vs prime

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

hibor vs prime

ok know some of you have mentioned this before, but i am a total layman when it comes to finance etc...! so any help would be much appreciated. basically i have to choose between HIbor or Prime with SCB, but to be honest i don't really know what the idfference is or the consequences of this except for the fact that hibor will mean a lower interest rate. does this = better?!?

Hibor does not always mean a lower interest rate. There are times, though seldom, when hibor can go higher than prime. There is certainly a risk factor when choosing hibor.
    Ask the bank to explain all this to you. A very important thing is to have a cap. This will limit your risks.
    Good luck!

cheers thanks tulip!

the cost of a cap is too expensive. u will frankly have to give up alot for the potential of interest rate going up.

anyway, hibor is market dependent. i.e. the flow of money between the world and the market is going to determine how much hibor is. whereas prime is set by the bank arbitrarily. when hibor goes up, the cost of fund for banks go up, u expect banks will definitely raise prime rate (unless prime rate was already quite high). if hibor comes down, bank will take some time before they adjust their prime rate downwards..

so for hibor u have a higher volatility that might be affected on a short time basis (e.g. suddenly hibor very high because all the money in the market went to do ipo).

but personally i'd more likely use hibor related loan.. and if necessary lock in the rates for the first few days.

What do you mean by 'the cost of a cap is too expensive'? What are for example the things I would have to give up? Thanks.

money! 8-P

caps are options. technically. so in order for your loan to be capped, you have to buy an option and that is reflected into your eventual interest rate (i.e. maybe 0.5% higher than normal).