INSURANCE FOR SWIMMING - Public Liability or Professional Indemnity?

Closed Thread

I wonder if anyone can help me. I am a qualified swimming teacher and am looking to teach mothers and babies in a friends swimming pool at her house.

I need to get some kind of insurance so if for example someone fell on the stairs to her pool they would not try to claim from the lady who's house it is.

Can anyone help me with which kind of insurance I need for this and any companies that might cover me, I have tried about 6 but no-one wants to do it.

To add I am highly qualified and taught babies to swim in the UK so I am not thinking of any accidents actually swimming, more around the poolside.

Please help as I am hitting a brick wall and would really like to be able to pursue this career here in HK.

Many Thanks

Hmmm...
    Does your friend own the house?
    Is there a formal arrangement between you and your friends in regards to your use of the swimming pool for business purposes?
    As a home owner, your friend can get a Building Owners Liability Insurance, that should cover third party liability including accidents occurring in the common areas of the building. Mostly this kind of cover is sold as a optional to the Home Insurance.

Alternatively have you thought of teaching at a public pool?
    Or ask your clients to sign a non-indemnity statement.

Last edited by PSMaverick; 11-09-2012 at 06:43 PM.

Yes its an agreement between me and the friend. I say friend, its actually a friend of a friend, so I prefer not to ask her to have to change her house insurance. She said I could use her pool for a fee. I will look into the no-indemnity statement then.

I live in DB, so the pools here wont allow me to teach as they have their own swimming lessons there. I want to particularly teach here in DB as there are alot of mums and babies and this is primarily the teaching I cover.

Thanks for the info