Like Tree4Likes

Holding an account in BOCHK, and buying stocks, as a European resident

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Beutiful Italy, where people don't know how to drive :)

Holding an account in BOCHK, and buying stocks, as a European resident

As a European resident I can't buy some CEFs with Saxo, and even if they allowed me to buy them, they lend me money to buy the CEFs, even though I have plenty of it (money). I am very unhappy with these two things.

I don't remember BOCHK lending me money to buy CEFs, when I have money in the account. I still have a bank account with BOCHK, and they still have my HK address. So it shouldn't be a problem buying CEFs with my BOCHK account.

Now I am thinking of buying CEFs with BOCHK, and then change my address to the European one, and fill in the WB-8 BEN form, so I pay taxes in Europe (15% taxation on US dividends, instead of 30% as a HK resident).

I asked BOCHK and they said there is no problem to have a BOCHK account if you are a European resident, as long as you have a HK ID card (which I do). Has anybody tried to do this, and have you encountered any kind of problem?

Thank you.

Key question is how the broker/agent will handle 30% WHT for your HK resident account regardless of your other nationality, usually it is deducted at source so are you going to claim it yourself at the end of year or some other arrangement?

Quote Originally Posted by ndt:
    Key question is how the broker/agent will handle 30% WHT for your HK resident account regardless of your other nationality, usually it is deducted at source so are you going to claim it yourself at the end of year or some other arrangement?
    The idea is that after I buy the CEFs I am interested in I change the residency to Europe, fill in the W8-BEN form, and I will be automatically deducted 15% WHT rather than 30% WHT (as a European resident I only need to pay 15% WHT). I will no longer be a HK resident, I will be a European resident.