Salary to get a credit card?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Salary to get a credit card?

Hi,

What is the salary needed to get a credit card? I am a fresh graduate that is being posted to HK as my first job, and I have no relatives or friends there, so I am totally clueless about banking system.

Is it advisable to set up an account in citi.hsbc first at your home country first?

I am going to be working for a reputable MNC and my salary is relatively (i hope) high, so I was hoping that they would at least give me a credit card without having to wait for a year!

My last question is: do they have to 'point system' in HK too? where you can chalk up points by spending and claiming rewards? If so, which banks are good for that?

Thanks for the help in advance.

This site rocks!

Mat

In the worst case you wait for 3 months (3 months salary statements)..Basically it is the same as everywhere else in the world.

HSBC require 3 months of salary paid into your account before considering you for a credit card which can take abut a month to process

Well, except when they don't - I had mine within a couple of weeks of moving here and opening an account with them. All they took from me was a copy of my contract of employment and a copy of my passport. (And a nominal amount, $500 I think, with which to open the bank account.)

if you want to get your card approved, HSBC can accept a time deposit in exchange of the card, then they can issue you a credit card. after 3-6 months, you can dissolve this time deposit.

Thanks for the help, this forum is seriously amazing.
    Do you all get points for using the visa card?
    Any cards in particular to recommend?