Like Tree1Likes

Accounting for salaries

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Accounting for salaries

Hello

i am new to HK. I have set up a company and live in HK running the company. I have done some research on what one needs to do to pay oneself a salary but have found nothing useful. Does anyone have a summary of what is required? Ie what forms are required to fill out for the tax department if any? What else the company needs to do in terms of red tape before the salary payments can be made to employees? and what other payments are necessary to comply with any HK laws?

Thanks so much

company

Your accountant, or whoever set up your company should advise you on what is required.

Quote Originally Posted by DAEHT:
    Ie what forms are required to fill out for the tax department if any?
    Just once a year, afaik, for the salaries tax return.

As Oldtimer says, your accountant will know (and if they don't, get a new accountant very quickly).

thanks for your replies but this doesnt really help - I dont have an accountant. Can anyone recommend one? One that can do the annual audit?

1. Pay yourself by cheque or cash once a month.
    2. Prepare a salary slip (not absolutely necessary but can be useful for audit).
    3. The Inland Revenue will send your BIR56 A and B forms for completion in April each year. These should be sent out within 1 month.
    4. You will also receive a personal tax return for completion.

MPF

You have to register for MPF : pay the same to the bank where you open the account. Sent you PM for an accountant.

Dont forget telling the IRD that you have also employed someone (IR56E), and to make sure you employers' liability insurance.

Employers

Quote Originally Posted by DAEHT:
    thanks for your replies but this doesnt really help - I dont have an accountant. Can anyone recommend one? One that can do the annual audit?