• 3 Post By CharSiuNow
  • 2 Post By Miaofromcali
  • 1 Post By Flapster
  • 1 Post By Franck:)

Best time to get a job in hong kong

Closed Thread

Question Best time to get a job in hong kong

Hi,

I have moved to hong kong in dependency visa on November and looking for a job.

I have 3 years of experience in finacial support and business analysis in a top money exchange MNC.

Is it a best time in hong kong to look for a job? Though I am available to join immediately, I am not getting much interview calls. I am using LinkedIn and jobs db to search openings.

Can any one suggest please....

I was in a similar position as you a couple of years ago. It takes time without the language. I also found recruiters and linkedin useless.

It took me 5 months to land a job, which was about 60% of the salary I was on in the UK.

In HK, it's all about contacts. Try to meet people, go for coffees, go to events, and meetups.

Quote Originally Posted by Flapster:
    Try to meet people, go for coffees, go to events, and meetups.
    This is a good advice in any country, in any business, if you try to find a job where they don't know you and you don't know the language (or you speak a second language, etc).

Try to connect to people, any way you can. You may be great at what you do, but employers don't know that. Once people know you or have seen you face-to-face, it is much easier to follow up and find a job. It will still take considerable time though (I've done this game multiple times).

Having said that, my understanding is that the financial sector in HK moves more and more to mainland/Mandarin speaking people, but others can comment on that.

Noted both points above and thanks

Also is it a right time for recruitments, is there any chance that hirings will be postponeneded to after chinese new year