Like Tree6Likes

Expense ratio in ETF

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Expense ratio in ETF

I am a beginner in investing, and have been doing quite a lot of reading lately. Can someone please explain how the expense ratio in an ETF works?
    For example, suppose I am buying 1000$ of shares and the expense ratio is 1%. Am I actually paying 1010$ as an initial investment? Or is it spread over the whole year? What if after 6 months I decide to cash out?

you have to read the fine prints. for all of my short term ETF positions, i have not seen any expense ratio taken from my profit.

Are you not hit by redemption fees?

Original Post Deleted
    Hi jrkob,

So if I understand correctly, if after a year the price of my investment is 1200$, I will be paying 20$ as ER?
    Does the ER also affect any dividend?

Original Post Deleted
    i buy Vanguard ETFs in the US market. my targets are usually very low expensive ratio and relatively high dividend. low expense ratio meaning lessn than 0.1%. "high" dividend meaning around 2.5% or higher. maybe since it's so low, and i hold them short term that i didn't really noticed. based on my rough calculation, they didn't charge me. unless they took it out from dividend distribution, then in that case, i have no idea.

Original Post Deleted
    Thanks for the explanation

To clarify this is what happens (could be wrong...).

The NAV of the ETF is the real value of the assets it holds. Typically updated officially by the fund manager every day at close.

Say the ETF has two stocks A (50% of holdings) and B (50% of holdings), A is valued at $45 and B is valued at $45 and $10 is held in cash by the manager. The manager distributes dividends every quarter.

The NAV of one ETF share is $100 at market open. The fund has a 12% expense ratio (keeping this simple for 1 month calculation).