• 3 Post By Neon
  • 8 Post By tck
  • 2 Post By chuckster007
  • 1 Post By DimSumBond

In need of investment advice

Closed Thread

In need of investment advice

Hello everyone,

Before anything I would like to mention that I have no basic knowledge on any investment or any stock market. I didn't even graduate Highschool so you could tell that I'm not really a smart cookie.

I recently turned 22 and have around 130k HKD saved up in the bank by working here and there. I have a feeling that my money in bank could do much more than just sit there. I can put aside 10k HKD a month in the bank and I have no plans to move elsewhere atm.

Any ideas as what I could do to make it grow? I know there are risks involved but I was taught to fall down and get bruises to learn how to ride a bike so any suggestion is welcome. Thank you

chuckster007, shri and markranson like this.

Quote Originally Posted by Neon:
    I recently turned 22 and have around 130k HKD saved up in the bank by working here and there.
    Definitely WELL DONE on saving that much for your age and education background, There will be some great members coming by to give you some good advice. I suck with money so I can only congratulate you
    shri and markranson like this.

Well done on building up a decent sized savings so far!! You are already showing your financial savvy.

In Hong Kong, you have access to plenty of investment products. If you prefer to have your own investment strategy, sign up to a brokerage and place your orders. You do need to know that investing is not for weak stomachs. Day/ frequent trading can rapidly erode gains by giving away fees.

If you want a more passive approach, there’s ETFs and mutual funds (watch the fees here) that could be of interest.