Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By wharrison6
  • 1 Post By jrkob
  • 1 Post By bdw

Beginner investor questions: ETFs vs managed funds, what happens when I move back to the UK

Beginner investor questions: ETFs vs managed funds, what happens when I move back to the UK

Hi all,

My situation: I'm a UK expat, 33 years old, married, have been in HK for 7 years, plan to return to UK within the next 5 years. I have saved up some cash of which HKD 250K+ I want to invest with a buy-and-hold strategy. I have a "4 out of 5" risk appetite and intend to invest 80% equity / 20% bonds. I want it to be low-fee but need to consider that I have limited investment knowledge (certainly compared to you folks!) and don't want to screw up my savings by investing in the wrong thing because I overestimated my abilities. My questions are as follows:

• The hands-off/easy approach would be to invest with HSBC Expat, with whom I already have an account, and stick my money in their HSBC world selection, matching exactly my risk appetite mentioned above. However, the high fees put me off and I owe it to myself to try a more hands-on investment approach. However, before I rule it out - has anyone had experience investing in this way (either through HSBC expat or similar) and has it been worthwhile? Does anyone else have a recommendation for other managed investment funds?
    • The hands-on approach would be to invest in ETFs. This is what I want to do but I feel my knowledge is lacking in both which ETFs to invest in and which broker/platform to use. My plan would be to invest in 3-5 ETFs and only touch again after a year in order to rebalance. I have the following questions: