Like Tree48Likes

Question from a complete newbie - what to do with cash

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Question from a complete newbie - what to do with cash

My wife and I are a bit late to this investment thing ie we haven't done a thing up to now. We have recently purchased a property in our home country which is being rented out so there is a small rental income. My question is about making some kind of saving/investment in HK though.

Neither of us have any idea what to do or how to do it. As we have left this quite late (we are mid-forties) I guess we will need to be quite aggressive in terms of risk.

Ideally, what we would like is to be able to transfer an amount every month (a variable amount as this would come from our free cash each month) to someone/something and they would invest it for us. Some months we may not be able to transfer anything.

Every month we get a statement showing what we have paid in and how our investment is doing.

Possible?

Few dozen threads you could start with in this forum. Look for anything started by pin.

Your investment while "in HK" can be in assets (stocks, bonds and like your case real estate) virtually anywhere in the world.

Are you a US citizen? For tax reasons, any strategy you take will depend on that one issue.

Lastest: https://geoexpat.com/forum/newpostinthread353953.html

In most cases, in my humble opinion a DIY approach of buying a broad basket of ETFs is better than putting money into an opaque and often expensive fund.

Once you have the broad basket setup and are able to match the market, you can always optimize a little bit by adding some risk with ultra-blue-chip type individual assets for either growth or income or both.

Last edited by shri; 22-08-2019 at 08:22 AM.
    LifeInHK and Jackie1 like this.

Quote Originally Posted by simon: