Like Tree8Likes

Best platform to invest on the ASX

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Best platform to invest on the ASX

Long time follower of geoexpat and firstly just want to say big thanks for all the regular contributors. Learnt a lot from this forum.

I am an Aussie citizen who has been living here for the last couple of years. My knowledge of investing stems from reading blogs and forums and I’m a massive fan of the FIRE movement. I know this current period is a very volatile and crazy time to start investing. Not looking to beat the market by picking individual stocks or anything like that.

I have had some experience investing in Australia mainly in vanguards ETFs. However as a non resident of Australia for tax purposes things start to get a bit complicated.

Firstly if there is any Aussies here who invest on the ASX what brokerage do you use? I know a lot of platforms back home don’t allow non residents. I currently have a SelfWealth account but they do not allow non residents and have asked me to close my account.

And secondly is there any benefits of investing outside of Australia? Tax, capital gains etc.

thanks in advance

I've bought stocks on the ASX via Interactive Brokers in the past.

@jared apologies if the idea sounds too simple but have you considered.... just HSBC Australia ? So that you can also transfer money for free between HSBC HK and HSBC Australia.
    I am a non-Australian citizen but opened an account with HSBC Australia a couple of weeks ago (took 2 days from HK !).
    They charge 0.11% in brokerage for ASX listed stocks, it's substantially cheaper than what banks will charge you for local stocks here in HK (an no dividend collection fee, no recurring custodian fee). Of course InteractiveBrokers will be cheaper, but you'll get in service and platform stability what you pay for.

Kowloon72, emx and cwd like this.

Agreed.

i would also look into investing US stocks now thru HSBC.

jared likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by jared