Like Tree89Likes

Struggling to Invest

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Struggling to Invest

I would really appreciate if anyone can help me out! So, I am 24 years old, I work as a teacher and earn around 26k+ every month. I want to start investing but I want to start with 10k first as a lump sum. I want to invest in ETFs but I don't know anything about them. Also, I have an HSBC savings account, should I go to them and ask them to help me invest in ETFs? Plus, how risky or safe ETFs are? I want something that's low-risk. For ETFs, do we pay monthly or can it be one lump-sum in several different ETFs? Sorry, I have zero knowledge about investing.

Please help.

Quote Originally Posted by unknown96:
    I would really appreciate if anyone can help me out! So, I am 24 years old, I work as a teacher and earn around 26k+ every month. I want to start investing but I want to start with 10k first as a lump sum. I want to invest in ETFs but I don't know anything about them. Also, I have an HSBC savings account, should I go to them and ask them to help me invest in ETFs? Plus, how risky or safe ETFs are? I want something that's low-risk. For ETFs, do we pay monthly or can it be one lump-sum in several different ETFs? Sorry, I have zero knowledge about investing.

Please help.
    Buy VOO, do it twice a year when you have built up 50k HKD or so to minimise transaction costs. Hold for 40 years.

For all your other questions, see other threads on this forum.

Start your investment process by educating yourself. Will have far more returns...

Do not jump in, esp if someone messages you and claims to be an Independant advisor.

I suggest going through the stickied threads here and a variety of others in banks, brokerages etc.

Will do my morning word vomit a bit later once I have had my coffee

Quote Originally Posted by GentleGeorge:
    Buy VOO, do it twice a year when you have built up 50k HKD or so to minimise transaction costs. Hold for 40 years.