Like Tree7Likes

UK citizen, long term HK resident - want to buy EFTs

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

UK citizen, long term HK resident - want to buy EFTs

I'm a long term (non permanent) HK resident with a British passport and I want to invest in some ETFs as I have money collecting no interest in the bank. I'm wanting to do long term investments in S&P 500 ETFs for retirement (I'm in my 30s now) and I plan on putting around 5k into the investment each month. I'm a total noob at this.

Any advice on a broker to use? I've heard good things about Charles Schwab but I hear it's more set up for US investors (?). I've looked into IB but I'm not entirely sure what I'm doing. I'm also a bit unsure about the HK tax situation - how much can I invest before I need to start paying HK tax?

Thanks!

Talking about HK tax, does your income fall into or close to standard tax rate and if so, have you set up TVC account to save tax?

For 5k monthly investment, i would rather invest through TVC act first and claim tax benefit than invest directly in the market, TVC act do have investment choices for global/USA and other region centric funds albeit at a higher cost but savings on tax more than compensate for it..

Quote Originally Posted by ndt:
    Talking about HK tax, does your income fall into or close to standard tax rate and if so, have you set up TVC account to save tax?

For 5k monthly investment, i would rather invest through TVC act first and claim tax benefit than invest directly in the market, TVC act do have investment choices for global/USA and other region centric funds albeit at a higher cost but savings on tax more than compensate for it..
    I would not recommend TVC. The management fee more than negates the tax saving, especially if you are young.

with TVC, you get about 17% discount/return. not bad for $60k investment every year