• 1 Post By Beanieskis
  • 1 Post By Beanieskis
  • 1 Post By shri
  • 2 Post By ndt
  • 1 Post By Beanieskis

VUSD or VOO?

VUSD or VOO?

Hello,

I am going to invest into an index fund and have narrowed it down to the 2 above options. I know that VUSD has WHT of 15% whilst VOO is at 30%, although the VUSD fund is slightly more expensive to buy into. I am not concerned about the estate tax for the US domiciled fund.

For context, I have UK citizenship and I'm a non US tax resident. I'll be looking to put about 1m HKD into the fund this year then monthly deposits moving forward with an investment horizon of 25/30 years.

My question is - does the lower WHT of VUSD mean that this would be a better long term option, even considering the ongoing higher fees (considering my investment strategy)? Or would the fees add up and VOO work out better?

Finally, any merit in investing in both? I guess probably not as I would be losing out on compounding effect?

Thanks!!

Don't mean to confuse you. But have you considered that it might be cheaper to compound in the UK with an accumulating share class over taking distributions and reinvesting, assuming you don't need distributions for expenses?

Something like this.. buy and forget...

https://www.ishares.com/uk/individua...ssthrough=true

(Sorry, not too familiar with the vanguard offerings, they should have a usd sp500 accumulating etf .. hopefully)

It is a very nit picky thing and I feel investing and staying in the market for a long time is more important.

Also assuming you are familiar with possible inheritance issues with US listed funds?

If you're not a US citizen / tax payer, you should invest in Irish domiciled ETFs (i.e. of the two you mention, VUSD) for tax efficiency.