HK Tax vs USA Tax

HK Tax vs USA Tax

so i've been trying to figure this out...

i am an US citizen, and when i used to work part-time, i paid my income tax every year like everyone else.

i just moved to Hong Kong recently, and am now working at my father's company. now this is where it gets complicated...i used to be a resident here from 1995 to 1997, complete with ID card and whatnot (while still keeping my US citizenship) - when i tried to get a SmartID this year, they told me that since i did not apply for an adult ID (i was 13 at the time in 1995), i would have to reapply for a resident ID (as opposed to a perma-resident one).

now the question is, after i reapply and get my ID back, can i be hired as a HK resident or do i still have to apply for a work visa? and how would my taxes work out? i know i would have to pay HK tax no matter what...but how about the US tax? as far as US is concerned, i have no job and therefore, no income..

so i guess the question is, what options do i have to end up paying for the least tax possible? i.e. taxed in HK and not taxed in US...

thanks in advance =)

bernard

As I understand it you can only avoid US tax by renouncing your US Citizenship and then waiting for 10 years.

Living here for 2 years from 13 to 15 doesn't give you any right to permanent residence... Previously holding a HKID for a couple of years (presumably as a Dependent) doesn't bestow any rights once you have left.

So you would appear to be just in the same position as any other expat coming here. You need to get an Employment Visa or similar (Investment maybe?) and then get a new adult HKID.

This all assumes that you don't have some right to Right of Abode by descent

Green card?

I heard that if you give up your green card then you no longer pay taxes. I'm Aussie so I dont know, just what Ive heard.