Like Tree5Likes

Canadian / HK Tax Question

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Canadian / HK Tax Question

I am a Canadian resident unable to declare non-residency in Canada. I am also a US citizen.

I have HKD Income from HK company since Aug 2015 till present.

I also have CND Income from a Canadian company deposited into a CND bank account for work done here in HK and around Asia (emails / SKYPE calls in HK for consulting, and consulting trips)

From my limited understanding I need to declare this income both in HK and Canada.

It seems that I would then need to pay double tax?

Any advice and/or contact for professional advice?

Canada : since you are a resident, you must declare and pay for worldwide income.

Hong Kong : you have not stated whether you are resident in Hong Kong or not. You can earn money in Hong Kong without being resident - if that is the case, no Hong Kong tax.

USA : you are a citizen : you must declare and pay for worldwide income.

How you actually offset them, I have no idea but there should be a way to do it.

Golden Hawk and SalseroHK like this.

Additional information: I am a HK Permanent resident.

Thanks...hopefully someone can weigh in on a way to offset them

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Hawk:
    Additional information: I am a HK Permanent resident.
    Thats not relevant. Are you here and earning money while you are here? That is more relevant.

My friend, a PR, let for 2 years to live in Malaysia. He was working in KL, being paid in Hong Kong. He did not pay HKG tax.

In any case, this is a tad bit complicated so I'll bow out and hopefully a good accountant can give better answers.
    SalseroHK likes this.

As US citizen residing abroad your tax exemption is at over 100k, have you Skyped that in ?
    If so, tell me how you did it.

Secondly, you are tax liable in the country that you reside in.
    Since you can not declare non residency in big Canada, I guess you are less than 180 sumting years in HK.