Like Tree6Likes

First time doing taxes in HK

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

First time doing taxes in HK

Hi All,

This is my first time doing the taxes here in Hong Kong. I have a few questions to ask:

1) During 2016 I have been employed as an Intern in HK with a Bank at around 20K a month (need to calculate the full amount). Does this go in Section 4.1 Salaries Tax - Income?

2) From Jan 2017 I am fully employed by another company and I have been using the rental reimbursement scheme. How do I calculate the "total value of ALL places of residence provided"? Should I just sum up rent paid to the landlord from date of employment to 31st March?

3) Based on my calculations, if you earned more than 420K a year you should opt for flat 15%, while if less you should go with progressive taxation. How do I choose which one I prefer? Do I need to Tick YES in PART 6 Personal Assessment for flat rate?

Thanks a lot!

Do you have copies of the employer returns? Those should have the numbers that the employers filed with IRD.

Vix85 likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by shri:
    Do you have copies of the employer returns? Those should have the numbers that the employers filed with IRD.
    Hi Shri,

yes I have that document. Should I simply fill with what they submitted with their numbers then?
    Great that's easy then

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by Vix85:
    3) Based on my calculations, if you earned more than 420K a year you should opt for flat 15%, while if less you should go with progressive taxation. How do I choose which one I prefer? Do I need to Tick YES in PART 6 Personal Assessment for flat rate?
    Your calculation is wrong. It should be more than that. You do get allowances that get deducted from your total income.

http://www.ird.gov.hk/eng/pdf/pam61e.pdf

Personal Assessment is only needed if you own a business and have income charged to profits tax, or you own a property that you rent out.
    Vix85 likes this.