Like Tree5Likes

Tax liability if I am remote working in HK

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Lightbulb Tax liability if I am remote working in HK

I am a HK resident and am directly employed by a foreign company (signed my contract online) that has no local HK entity as a software developer. The company conducts no business in HK and has no customers here.

My salary is directly wired by the company to my HK bank account every month.

Since HK tax is territorial and the income is not sourced from HK am I still liable to pay tax in HK?

I'll appreciate your kind advice.

Thanks!

Not a tax advisor here but you're liable for tax since you've earned it in HK. I don't think however the IRD will go after you if you showed some, if not all income since the overseas employer isn't tracked by the IRD. Your employer will need to show CPF contribution to the IRD after the 11th or 13th month (check this fact out) when IRD will know how much you make.

Everyone's tax situation differs, so take that into account, but generally speaking if you live in HK you will be tax resident in HK and yes should therefore be paying tax on your employment income regardless of where your employer is domiciled.

Not 100% the same situation but here is what I found when looking into my company's tax situation. I imagine a similar test is used for personal tax

https://www.ird.gov.hk/eng/paf/bus_pft_tsp.htm

The broad guiding principle is that one looks to see what the taxpayer has done to earn the profits in question and where he has done it. In other words, the proper approach is to identify the operations which produced the relevant profits and ascertain where those operations took place. The source of profits must be attributed to the operations of the taxpayer which produce them and not to the operations of other members of the taxpayer's group.
    My interpretation is this is IRD saying "nice try" but I don't claim to be a tax advisor