Changes to Aussie tax exemptions

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Changes to Aussie tax exemptions

Just read in KRudds new budget summary that they're going to drop the tax exemptions for Aussies working overseas as of 1st July (eg 90 day rule etc). The only exemptions will be Aussies working for charity or the gov't somehow (diplomatic or defense etc)... my take on it is if one can prove they are a non-resident then they are exempt, but if a person is only in HK on a 1yr contract, they may not be able to sufficiently prove they are a "non-resident"...

anyone in the know have some words of wisdom on this? this aint my field of expertise...

I am no expert on this either. But my understanding is the proposed change only applies to Australian tax residents with foreign employment income. Therefore, as long as you are considered a non-tax resident, you don't have to be subject to this change. There are detailed rules and examples on ATO's website regarding residency status for tax purposes.

that's prety much what i said in my post... however, the info on the ATO website is for current tax exemptions, not for the proposed budget... also, KRudd hasapparently threatened to call an early election in a hissy-fit if his budget is not accepted...

Quote Originally Posted by dropdedfwed:
    that's prety much what i said in my post... however, the info on the ATO website is for current tax exemptions, not for the proposed budget... also, KRudd hasapparently threatened to call an early election in a hissy-fit if his budget is not accepted...