Like Tree13Likes

Need Advice on Suit Purchase

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Need Advice on Suit Purchase

I have decided to get a tailored suit in Hong Kong for work. A suit which I would be wearing every 3rd or 4th day. Since I am new to the tailored suit thing, I decided to go through a lot of tailors in TST just to get a general idea of fabrics they use.

Now my question is what fabric should I get? I was told by 2 tailors to go for Super 180s or 200s for a comfortable fit but I see some vague information that these fabrics are too delicate that daily use would easily get it worn out.

Also is there anything I should look for when talking with the tailor. I am extremely new to getting a suit tailored so I could use all the help I can get as I do not want to get fooled by good salesmen.

Would really appreciate inputs as I booked an appointment with the tailor tmr afternoon. TIA

I wouldn't trust tailors in TST. I have never tried them though. I think you could try a Chinese tailor in Central (one that sells 3 tailor made shirts for $1000) or go to a store that sells suits.

Quote Originally Posted by MandM!:
    I wouldn't trust tailors in TST. I have never tried them though. I think you could try a Chinese tailor in Central (one that sells 3 tailor made shirts for $1000) or go to a store that sells suits.
    Most tailors I met are selling 3 shirts at $1000 as well. But what do you think about the Super 180s fabric? A good fabric for everyday use at work?

I am trying to understand the materials that goes into making a suit? I am completely overwhelmed

Spend an hour or so reading this thread. Yes, it's mainly about Bangkok - but the detail it contains about getting a suit made is relevant to Hong Kong.

https://www.lonelyplanet.com/thorntr...ng-in-thailand

Quote Originally Posted by Srashes: