Like Tree1Likes

Looking for like-minded wine fans

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Looking for like-minded wine fans

I used to be a big wine drinker back in the UK but pretty much stopped for the last couple of years. Now I'm getting back into it (quality, not quantity) and am looking for people to swap tips on good buys with. Maybe the odd bottle.

I'm no expert and don't have an unlimited budget. But I'm prepared to pay a few bucks for a good quality bottle every now and then.

Try Watsons branches - they seem to know what they are talking about, and particularly the one in Central, they do have some pretty decent bottles at very good prices. Just steer clear of the French stuff - I use it as cooking wine or in salad dressings. Get my gist

Quote Originally Posted by Natfixit:
    Try Watsons branches - they seem to know what they are talking about, and particularly the one in Central, they do have some pretty decent bottles at very good prices. Just steer clear of the French stuff - I use it as cooking wine or in salad dressings. Get my gist
    Yeah, that french muck is just terrible .

I'm looking more for the social aspect thanks - sharing ideas, swapping notes.

Are there any wine clubs in HK where they have educational sessions, in addition to tastings?

I joined one in the US years ago and it was a fun place to meet interesting people.

YouTube - ‪Hail Cork Master!‬‏

Quote Originally Posted by ReverendJay:
    Are there any wine clubs in HK where they have educational sessions, in addition to tastings?

I joined one in the US years ago and it was a fun place to meet interesting people.

YouTube - ‪Hail Cork Master!‬‏
    Berry Bros & Rudd do tasting courses The Fine Wine Centre-Hong Kong- Wine Courses & Qualifications-Berry Bros & Rudd but I reckon they might be a bit stuffy.