Like Tree2Likes

Frequent Travel to Shenzhen

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Frequent Travel to Shenzhen

In a couple weeks I will be moving to China with my girlfriend. Inconveniently, the best job I could find was in Hong Kong and the best job she could find was in Shenzhen.
    My plan over the next year is to spend as much time with her as possible, so I'm wondering about getting between the two cities on a fairly regular basis. As a Canadian with multi-entry permits in China, she should have no problem coming over to Hong Kong as often as she wants (I'm assuming). But for me to get to Shenzhen at least 2-3 times a month, what are my best options?

From the research I've done so far, I understand there is a pretty straight forward Shenzhen visa that I can get at the border with little hassle. But is there a limit to how many I can get?
    I also understand that there are longer-term multiple entry visas for China that I can get if I'm a resident of Hong Kong. Does a working permit and a job qualify me for this? Will I face problems with a multi-entry visa when I will potentially enter China 20 times a year? Are there any options that I'm no aware of?
    Finally, what's the quickest, easiest and cheapest way to get between Hong Kong Island and the Nanshan area of Shenzhen?
    Thanks,
    Dave

If you have a work visa in HK then you will be resident, and that will make it easier to get China visas. If you've never been to China before that may entail a couple of double entry visas before they will allow a multi entry one- all case by case, nothing can be assumed when dealing with China officialdom.

With multi entry you can cross as often as you like, you're only going a few times, there are people that cross a 100 or couple of hundred times a year for business and visiting.